The State of Bahia


Bahia is one of the 27 states of Brazil, and is located in the northeastern part of the country on the Atlantic coast. It is the fourth most populous Brazilian state after São Paulo, Minas Gerais and Rio de Janeiro, and the fifth-largest in size.

Bahia shares borders with eight other states: Minas Gerais, EspĂ­rito Santo, Goias, Tocantins, PiauĂ­, Pernambuco, Alagoas and Sergipe. The capital, Salvador, is the third most populous city in the country. The state of Bahia is a major player of sugar production.
The african culture is notable in the state and had a large influence on the music, food and religion. There are a lot of typical celebrations such as the Carnaval which is very famous. The economy is based on industry, agriculture, cattle, mineration and tourism.

Some of the touristic points to visit:
-Elevador Lacerda
-Ilha de Itaparica
-Chapada Diamantina

Map of Bahia

View Larger Map

Read More